Montana Department of Commerce
301 South Park Avenue
Helena, Lewis and Clark County, MT


Section 8 Waiting List Status: Open Indefinitely

Affordable Housing Online is tracking the status of the Montana Department of Commerce Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Waiting List. This is what we know as of our most recent update on December 1st, 2016.

Please note: The Montana Department of Commerce administers 11 regional Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher waiting lists for all 56 counties in the State of Montana. Please view waiting list information for each region below.

  • The Action for Eastern Montana waiting list covers the Counties of Carter, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Garfield, McCone, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sheridan, Treasure, Valley, and Wibaux, MT.
  • The Bozeman waiting list covers the Counties of Gallatin, Meagher, and Park, MT.
  • The Butte waiting list covers the Counties of Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Granite, Madison, Powell, and Silver Bow, MT
    Please note: The Housing Authority of Butte operates its own waiting list separate from the MDC.
  • The District 7 HRDC waiting list covers the Counties of Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, and Yellowstone, MT.
  • The Havre waiting list covers the Counties of Blaine, Hill and Liberty, MT. 
  • The Helena waiting list covers the Counties of Broadwater, Jefferson, and Lewis & Clark, MT.
    Please note: The Helena Housing Authority operates its own waiting list separate from the MDC.
  • The Housing Authority of Billings waiting list covers the City of Billings and cities within a 10-mile radius of Billings, MT
    Please note: The Housing Authority of Billings operates its own waiting list separate from the MDC.
  • The Kalispell waiting list covers the Counties of Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, and Sanders, MT.
  • The Lewistown waiting list covers the Counties of Fergus, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Muscleshell, Petroleum, and Wheatland, MT.
  • The Missoula waiting list covers the Counties of Mineral, Missoula and Ravalli, MT.
    Please note: The Missoula Housing Authority operates its own waiting list separate from the MDC.
  • The Opp Inc waiting list covers the Counties of Cascade, Chouteau, Glacier, Pondera, Teton, and Toole, MT.

The Montana Department of Commerce (MDC) Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher waiting list is currently open for all covered areas. These waiting lists are open indefinitely. 

To apply, complete the online application here

Please note: You can only apply to one region.

Important note: Applicants who have been placed on the waiting list must inform the housing authority immediately if your application information changes (such as contact information, income, and household members). In the case that the office sends a notice that does not get returned, or if application information is out of date, your name may be terminated from the waiting list. Contact the housing authority to find out how to update application information.

Applicants placed on the waiting list will be notified by mail within two months of the application submission.

For more information, visit the MDC website, or call the office at (406) 841-2830.

Assisted Unit Distribution What is Housing Assistance?

The Montana Department of Commerce administers a Section 8 housing voucher program. The housing authority administers 4,280 Section 8 housing vouchers.

According to HUD, Montana Department of Commerce is designated as Large, meaning it administers 1,250 - 9,999 Section 8 vouchers.

Montana Department of Commerce is among the 17% of Montana housing authorities that only offer Section 8 voucher assistance. If there are any public housing units available in the target area, those units are administered by another housing authority.

Source United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (, 2014)

SEMAP Performance What are SEMAP Scores?

Each year HUD reviews and scores the housing authority’s Section 8 program management based on 14 different criteria. This score is a reflection of how well the housing authority manages the Section 8 waiting list, the physical quality of housing assisted with Section 8 and the financial management of the program.

From 2001 to 2009, Montana Department of Commerce scored an average of 93 points as of the last set of publicly available data. The housing authority had a high score of 100 in 2003 and a low score of 74 in 2006. The average SEMAP Score for Housing Authorities in Montana is 84.10.

Montana Department of Commerce has an average score that is more than the average Montana housing authority. Higher SEMAP scores indicate more effective financial management, a smoother waiting list process and higher quality physical conditions at assisted properties.

Source President's Open Government Directive (, 2012)

Housing Authority Annual and 5 Year Plans

Public housing agencies, also called public housing authorities, which receive funding from HUD, are required to submit and receive approval from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development of both an Annual Plan and a 5 Year Plan. These plans establish each housing authority’s policies, strategies, programs and operations for meeting the housing needs of persons within their target area.

The housing authority plans include specific details about the cost of renovations to real estate (also known as capital improvements), changes to Section 8 HCV policies, planned redevelopment of public housing projects and other major administrative changes.

Following are the HUD-approved public housing agency plans for Montana Department of Commerce.

Year Date Approved Plan PDF Document
2012 5/29/12 Plan
2011 11/4/11 Plan
2010 5/26/10 Plan
2007 6/7/07 Plan
2006 5/12/06 Plan
2005 5/13/05 Plan
2004 5/21/04 Plan
2003 9/11/03 Plan
2002 5/28/02 Plan
2000 7/5/00 Plan