Georgia Department of Community Affairs Section 8 HCV Waiting List : Closed

This information was last updated on July 19th, 2016.

Please note: The Georgia Department of Community Affairs covers 149 counties in the State of Georgia. A list of all counties covered can be found here.

The Georgia Department of Community Affairs (GDCA) Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher waiting list for all covered counties is currently closed. The waiting list for all covered counties was last open for one week in February 2016. There is no notice of when this waiting list will reopen.

Please note: This waiting list has preferences. This means that applicants who qualify for these preferences will receive assistance before applicants who do not. Because of these preferences, applicants who do not qualify may have a longer wait to receive assistance.

To apply during the opening period, applicants were required to complete the online pre-application.

The following preferences were identified: Live, work, or have been hired to work in the county you apply to.

Applicants were placed on the waiting list by random lottery, after sorting preferences.

According to this news article, about 47,000 were received by the GDCA within the first 24 hours of the opening.

Important note: Applicants will receive a confirmation number when either applying, or being placed on the waiting list, depending on housing authority policy. It is important to keep that number in a safe, easy to access place. It will be needed any time when referencing your pre-application with the housing authority.

If any of your application information changes from the time you submitted the original pre-application (such as contact information, income, and household members), inform the housing authority immediately. In the case that the office sends a notice that does not get returned, or if application information is out of date, your name may be terminated from the waiting list.

Applicants who have been placed on the waiting list will be notified by mail. Applicants may also visit this website, or call the application assistance line at 1 (888) 858-6085 to find out if their confirmation number has been selected four weeks after the waiting list has closed.

If any of your pre-application information has changed, you must print and complete the Preliminary Application Update Form that will be available online here after the waiting list has closed. Once the form has been completed, it must be submitted to the address on the top and bottom of the form.

For more information, visit the GDCA website, or call the office at (404) 679-4940.

Georgia Department of Community Affairs (Central Office) serves the following locations in the state of Georgia:

Ben Hill County Butts County Chattooga County Colquitt County Decatur County Elbert County Habersham County Houston County Jones County Lowndes County Mitchell County Paulding County Rabun County Stephens County Terrell County Twiggs County Wayne County Worth County Atkinson County Bleckley County Candler County Clay County Coweta County Dooly County Fannin County Haralson County Jasper County Laurens County McIntosh County Morgan County Pierce County Rockdale County Talbot County Toombs County Walker County White County Brantley County Barrow County Bulloch County Charlton County Dade County Early County Forsyth County Greene County Heard County Jenkins County Lincoln County Meriwether County Newton County Pulaski County Seminole County Taylor County Troup County Warren County Wilkes County Oconee County Berrien County Calhoun County Cherokee County Columbia County Emanuel County Gilmer County Hall County Irwin County Lamar County Lumpkin County Monroe County Peach County Randolph County Stewart County Thomas County Union County Webster County Banks County Bacon County Brooks County Carroll County Crawford County Dougherty County Fayette County Gordon County Harris County Jeff Davis County Lee County Macon County Murray County Pike County Schley County Taliaferro County Towns County Walton County Whitfield County Madison County Bartow County Burke County Coffee County Dawson County Effingham County Franklin County Gwinnett County Henry County Johnson County Long County Miller County Oglethorpe County Putnam County Spalding County Telfair County Turner County Washington County Wilkinson County Quitman County Appling County Camden County Clarke County Cook County Dodge County Evans County Glascock County Hancock County Jackson County Lanier County McDuffie County Montgomery County Pickens County Tift County Upson County Wheeler County Chattahoochee County Baldwin County Bryan County Catoosa County Clinch County Crisp County Douglas County Floyd County Grady County Hart County Jefferson County Liberty County Marion County Polk County Screven County Tattnall County Treutlen County Ware County Wilcox County Baker County Warner Robins Valdosta Dublin Cartersville Waynesboro Athens

Affordable Apartments near Georgia Department of Community Affairs (Central Office)

288 Bailey Street
Pinewood Apartments participates in the following programs:
Project-Based Section 8
200 Woodlawn Dr
Woodlawn Senior Village participates in the following programs:
Low Income Housing Tax Credit
71 Center Rd SE
Huntwood Terrace participates in the following programs:
Section 202 Supportive Housing for the Elderly