Waiting Lists

Learn more about Brightpoint.

Open: Allen, DeKalb, Elkhart, Fulton, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Marshall, Noble, Steuben, and Whitley County, Indiana Section 8 HCV

Please Note: Due to the decentralized nature of affordable housing information, the information about this waiting list may be out of date.

The Brightpoint Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher waiting list for Allen, DeKalb, Elkhart, Fulton, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Marshall, Noble, Steuben, and Whitley County is currently open.

Brightpoint is accepting applications for this waiting list from November 14, 2022 at 7:30 am ET, until further notice.

To apply during the opening period, complete the online application available below:

This waiting list has the following preferences:

  • Residency - Applicant is a legal resident of, has been hired to work in, or currently works within the COUNTY they have applied to
  • Person residing in an institutional setting or at risk of being placed in an institutional setting - An institutional or other segregated setting includes, but is not limited to: Congregate settings populated exclusively or primarily with individuals with disabilities; or congregate settings characterized by regimentation in daily activities, lack of privacy or autonomy, policies limiting visitors, or limits on individuals’ ability to engage freely in community activities and to manage their own activities of daily living; or settings that provide for daytime activities primarily with other individuals with disabilities; or a person at risk of being placed in a setting defined above
  • Working Families - Persons either attending a school/training program or working at least 20 hours per week; elderly status (age 62 and older), non-elderly disabled status (61 and under with disability), having a disabled family member (any age)
  • Elderly – Applicant (Head of Household, Spouse, Co-Head, Sole Member) is age 62 or older
  • Non-Elderly Family Member with Disability – Non-elderly (61 years or younger) family, Head, Spouse, Co-Head, or sole member meets HUD’s definition of disabled
  • Family Member with a Disability – An individual who meets the HUD definition of a person with a disability
  • Youth Exiting Foster Care - Youth that Indiana Department of Child Services has certified to be at least 18 years and not more than 24 years of age who have left foster care, or will leave foster care within 90 days and is homeless or is At Risk of Becoming Homeless
  • Child Welfare Involved Families - A family that Indiana Department of Child Services has certified as a family for whom the lack of adequate housing is a primary factor in the placement of the family’s child, or children, in out-of-home care, or in the delay of discharge of a child, or children, to the family from out-of-home care

Selected applicants will be placed on the waiting list by date and time the application is received, weighed by order of preferences.

For more information, visit the Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority website.

Sources: This information was verified by the IHCDA public notice on November 18, 2022.

Service Area

This waiting list is for Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher rental assistance in Allen (excluding the city limits of Fort Wayne), DeKalb, Elkhart (excluding the city limits of Goshen and Elkhart), Fulton, Kosciusko (excluding the city limits of Warsaw), LaGrange, Marshall, Noble, Steuben, and Whitley County, Indiana.

Reasonable Accommodation

Applicants who need help completing the application due to disability can make a reasonable accommodation request to the housing authority via (260) 423-3546.

Next Steps

Learn more about what happens after the application is submitted.

Last Updated on 12/08/2022.

↑ Back To Top

Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority

Brightpoint serves Allen County, DeKalb County, Elkhart County, Fulton County, Kosciusko County, LaGrange County, Marshall County, Noble County, Steuben County and Whitley County on behalf of Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority.

About Brightpoint

227 East Washington Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN | Visit Website | (260) 423-5346

Brightpoint provides affordable housing for up to 0 low and moderate income households through its Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) program..

Housing Authority Jurisdiction

Low-income housing managed by Brightpoint is located in:

The Housing Authority does not serveElkhart, Fort Wayne, Goshen and Warsaw

Households with a Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher managed by this housing authority must rent within its jurisdiction.