Affordable Housing Online is monitoring the federal government's response to the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak. 

An extensive list of coronavirus resources for low-income households can be found here.

Are housing offices open during a federal holiday?

Answer

Housing authority offices operating on behalf of HUD are closed during federal holidays, but privately managed housing offices may or may not be open. You can contact a privately managed housing office to find out its operations during a federal holiday.

In 2020, each federal holiday will be observed on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, January 1: New Year’s Day
  • Monday, January 20: Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • Monday, February 17: Washington’s Birthday
  • Monday, May 25: Memorial Day
  • Friday, July 3: Independence Day
  • Monday, September 7: Labor Day
  • Monday, October 12: Columbus Day
  • Wednesday, November 11: Veterans Day
  • Thursday, November 26: Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday, December 25: Christmas Day

These offices also may or may not be open for Election Day, but since it is not a federal holiday, the decision is up to each housing office. This is in regards to both HUD and privately managed offices. In 2020, Election Day is on Tuesday, November 3.

The dates of federal holidays were verified by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management.

More FAQs from Low Income Households

  • How do I file a complaint to HUD about being mistreated by a managing housing office?
  • What are Tenant Projection Vouchers?
  • How can I find out the area the housing authority serves (jurisdiction)?
  • What is an income limit?
  • Is a resident of the housing authority allowed to serve on its board of directors?