Section 8 Waiting Lists in Illinois

There are 74 housing authorities in Illinois which offer the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program. For more on the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher program visit the Housing Choice Voucher section of our Low Income Housing Renter's Guide.

As of June 22nd 2018, there are 11 Section 8 waiting lists that are open now, opening soon, or always open.

Section 8 Waiting Lists Open Indefinitely

All Open Indefinitely Waiting Lists

There are 11 Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Waiting Lists in Illinois that are either always open or that have not announced a closing date.

Waiting ListServes
Springfield Housing AuthoritySangamon County, Springfield
Housing Authority for LaSalle CountyGrundy County, LaSalle County, Cedar Point +24 More
St. Clair County Housing AuthoritySt Clair County
Lee County Housing AuthorityLee County, Dixon, Amboy +5 More
Montgomery County Housing AuthorityMontgomery County, Litchfield, Hillsboro +6 More
Jersey County Housing AuthorityJersey County, Jerseyville, Brighton
Fulton County Housing AuthorityFulton County, Table Grove, Canton +6 More
Knox County Housing AuthorityKnox County, Galesburg, Wataga +2 More
Housing Authority of the County of DeKalbDeKalb County, Dekalb, Somonauk +12 More
Woodford County Housing AuthorityWoodford County, Metamora, Eureka +1 More
Grundy County Housing AuthorityGrundy County, Morris, Dwight +14 More

Closed Section 8 Waiting Lists

The following waiting lists have been confirmed to be closed.

Waiting ListClosed Date
Chicago Housing AuthorityNovember 24th, 2014
Peoria Housing AuthorityAugust 18th, 2014
Housing Authority of Champaign CountyJune 30th, 2016
The Housing Authority of Henry CountyJune 29th, 2016
Greater Metropolitan Area Housing Authority of Rock Island County-
Housing Authority of the City of Danville-
Madison County Housing AuthorityJuly 20th, 2016
Quincy Housing AuthorityMay 11th, 2016
Rock Island Housing AuthorityJuly 28th, 2015
Moline Housing Authority-
Rockford Housing AuthorityApril 10th, 2015
Housing Authority of Joliet-
Housing Authority of Cook County-
Waukegan Housing AuthorityApril 2nd, 2015
Menard County Housing Authority-
Whiteside County Housing AuthorityNovember 21st, 2014
Kankakee County Housing AuthorityJuly 24th, 2015
Logan County Housing AuthorityJuly 21st, 2015
Housing Authority of the City of BloomingtonOctober 30th, 2014
Jackson County Housing Authority-
Lake County Housing AuthorityDecember 2nd, 2016
Housing Authority of the County of FranklinOctober 17th, 2014
Jo Daviess County Housing Authority-
Aurora Housing Authority-
Housing Authority of Elgin-
Ogle County Housing Authority-
DuPage Housing Authority-
Housing Authority of the Village of Oak ParkMarch 18th, 2004
McHenry County Housing AuthorityFebruary 13th, 2018
Housing Authority of East PeoriaAugust 8th, 2014
Housing Authority of the City of MarionJuly 31st, 2017
Housing Authority of the Town of CiceroOctober 24th, 2014
Winnebago County Housing AuthorityFebruary 26th, 2017
Maywood Housing AuthorityMay 4th, 2017
Mercer County Housing Authority-
Kendall Housing AuthorityMarch 9th, 2018
Winnebago County Housing AuthorityFebruary 19th, 2018
Housing Authority of the City of North ChicagoJune 8th, 2018
Decatur Housing AuthorityJune 11th, 2018